top of page
  • Writer's pictureCukeman

Lamb of God: Omens Review



Here we are, another new record from good old LOG. In anticipation I listened through their back catalogue so I could properly assess this new entry. I'd already listened to the singles they dropped earlier so had a reasonable idea what to expect, more music for my groove metal fix! The band has had a turbulent history there's no denying that. I'm not going to write about that here, any fan will know and if you don't just look at Wiki.


My own experience of Lamb of God started with 'Ashes of the Wake'. When I heard 'Now You've got something to die for' it awoke something primal in me. It had the rawness of Pantera and the ferocity of early thrash. I've been to more gigs than I can remember but I always remember Lamb of God gigs. My most memorable experience was the 'Sacrament' tour where they played the album in its entirety. Absolutely mental!


Over the years I've been impressed with some of their records where others leave me feeling a little indifferent. 'Resolution' being one. So, I am going into this with no expectations.


The album bursts straight in with 'Nevermore'. Galloping riffs and Randy screaming 'HANGING BY A THREAT! NOW YOU CAN CHOKE ON IT!' His vocals on this album are as good as they were almost 20 years ago. This is unmistakably Lamb of God, very much still alive and kicking, throwing in some of Randy's clean vocals for good measure. Solid opener!


The blistering speed continues with the next couple of songs 'Vanishing' and 'To The Grave'. and feels like they're harking back to their earlier records. Chunky galloping riffs, Randy's trademark vocals and that underlying groove that weaves its way through each and every beat.


A song that really shows they haven't lost their intensity is 'Ditch'. I love this song! It has an opener similar to 'Straight for the sun' from Resolution. It kicks you right in the face, grips you by the throat and doesn't let go until the end. 'YOU'RE FACE DOWN, DOWN IN A DITCH THAT YOU DUG YOURSELF!' How many of us can relate to that lyric!


The title track, 'Omens', slows the pace down somewhat. It still feels as though their channeling that fire and passion from records like Wrath and Sacrament.


'Gomorrah' has a real atmosphere to it, dark and foreboding. Randy screams the chorus line 'EVERYTHING IS DOOMED TO FAIL!" Very fitting in the current global climate. Also, in keeping with the theme of this album. As morbid as it is, it's a solid song and still gets me singing along.


The next song 'Ill Designs' picks up the momentum once again. Fast pace and blistering solos. For a band going this long you'd expect them to start slowing down, no chance, not here.


'Greyscale' was one of the singles so I'd already heard it before. Has a real old school feel to it. I love the groove it hooks me right in. This is the musical style I love from Lamb of God.


The next song, 'Denial Mechanism', feels like it was ripped right off a thrash metal record, gives me real 'Motorhead' vibes. It's a real blast of fury perfect for a mosh pit!


Lastly, we come to 'September Song'. It starts off as though it'll be a slow burner, but it doesn't stay there for long. It's a solid song through not instantly memorable.


In all honesty this is what I've found with Lamb of God over the years. I don't personally feel their most recent records have the same impact they used to. To be fair to the band I feel this is more down to me than their musical creativity.


Music naturally played a bigger part in my teens and certain albums just hit at the right time. If they released Ashes of the Wake now, I imagine my feelings of indifference would be similar. You can't beat nostalgia no matter how hard you try. I'd be interested to see what people think of this album that are coming to it fresh with no real previous experience of the band. Would it ignite in them that same fire that I had when I first heard songs the likes of 'Ruin'.


I always try and consider the nostalgia factor when listening to new band material. My bar is going to be set far higher as a longtime fan and therefore I feel I have to artificially lower it to make sure i'm giving the band a fair shot.


That's why I don't judge older bands too harshly. When I read other reviews, I'm not sure they're as aware of their own unconscious bias towards older material. I do find it odd that these veteran bands 'Machine Head', 'Slipknot' and now Lamb of God seem to be returning to their musical roots. I might be alone in this view (probably).


Perhaps they're at a stage in their careers where they just making music they love as opposed to what they think people want. It's so good to see there is still so much passion and they're not giving up.


It's a solid record and there's a couple of standout tracks such as Nevermore and Ditch. It's the sound of a band that is hungry, angry, fueled up and ready to ignite. If this is what they can make decades on, then good on them! For me personally I feel it is a grower and I need to listen to it more, which I'm more than happy to do!






Comments


bottom of page